Tanzania emblem
The United Republic of Tanzania

Export Processing Zones Authority

Export Processing Zones Authority


Export Processing Zones Authority (EPZA) is an Autonomous Government Agency governed by a Board of Directors. It operates under the Ministry of Industry and Trade. EPZA is responsible for steering and implementing the Government policy on promotion of Special Economic Zones (SEZs) in Tanzania. Other functions of EPZA include the development of EPZ and SEZ infrastructure, provision of business services to EPZ and SEZ investors and issuing of EPZ and SEZ licenses. The Authority functions as a One Stop Service Centre for all prospective and existing investors. The EPZ scheme promotes investment in manufacturing sector mainly for export while SEZ scheme registers investments for both local as well as export markets and involves other sectors such as Agriculture, Trade, Tourism, Mining and Forestry.

Establishment of the Export Processing Zones Authority and of its Board of Directors is provided under Section 6 of Act No. 2 of 2011. The Board consists of the following members:

  • a)The Minister responsible for Industries who is the Chairman;
  • b)The Attorney General;
  • c)The Permanent Secretary of the Ministry responsible for Finance;
  • d)The Permanent Secretary of the Ministry responsible for Energy;
  • e)The Permanent Secretary of the Ministry responsible for Water;
  • f)The Permanent Secretary of the Ministry responsible for Local Authorities;
  • g)The Executive Secretary of the Planning Commission;
  • h)The Commissioner General of the Tanzania Revenue Authority;
  • i)The Commissioner of Lands;
  • j)The Chairman of the Tanzania Private Sector Foundation; and
  • k)The President of the Tanzania Chamber of Commerce, Industry, and Agriculture.
  • l)The Director-General of EPZA is Secretary of the EPZA Board.