|   Staff Mail |   Contact Us


Country Overview

Tanzania offers to domestic and foreign investors, the most exciting investment opportunities, which are among the best in East Africa region and Africa as a whole. It is the largest and most populous country in the East Africa region. Tanzania is a multiparty democracy with an open and stable market economy.


The United Republic of Tanzania was formed in 1964 out of the union of two sovereign states, namely Tanganyika and Zanzibar.



Tanzania is situated in East Africa just south of the equator. It is one of the five countries in East Africa.  Mainland Tanzania lies between the area of the Great Lakes of Victoria, Tanganyika, and Nyasa and the Indian Ocean, and has about 1,400 kilometers of coastline. It borders with eight countries, namely Kenya, Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi, Malawi, Zambia, Mozambique and the Democratic Republic of Congo. Six of these countries are landlocked, which makes Tanzania a natural gateway to the region.



Tanzania encompasses 945,087 square kilometers, including 59,050 square kilometers of inland water. The island of Zanzibar comprises of 1,657 square kilometers, and the island of Pemba about 984 square kilometers.



Tanzania has the largest population in East Africa, inhabiting about 44 million people in mainland Tanzania and 1.2 million people in the Island of Zanzibar.



There are over 120 ethnic tribes in Tanzania, majority of which are of Bantu origin. All Tanzanias are unified through speaking one local national language – Swahili. 

A word from DG

  On behalf of the entire team, I 'm pleased to welcome all esteemed Investors to the EPZA..

Latest News & Events


       Export Processing Zones Authority,

       Benjamin William Mkapa SEZ,
       Mabibo External.
       P.O.Box 12112
       Dar es Salaam - Tanzania.
        Tel :+255 (0)22 2925058-60
        Fax :+255 (0)22 292 5061
       E-mail:   info@epza.go.tz